U of L's Homecoming Weekend highlighted by today's Traditional Blackfoot naming ceremony

By Aaron Mahoney (@Mahones93 on Twitter)
September 2, 2017 - 10:09am

The University of Lethbridge will see five outstanding members of its community, including four alumni, participate in a decades-long custom.

Chanceller Janice Varzari, Board of Governors Chair Kurt Schlachter, the longest serving faculty member Dr. Dennis Connolly, Chancellor Emeritus Dr. Van Christou and Provost & Vice President Academic Dr. Andy Hakin will each be honoured with a Blackfoot name as part of the traditional naming ceremony.

The University is located in Treaty 7, the heart of traditional Blackfoot Territory.

President and Vice-Chancellor Dr. Mike Mahon says their relationship with the Blackfoot people extends to the very beginning of the U of L, and is one that figures prominetly in everything they do at the University.

Mahon was given the Blackfoot name lipisowahsi or Morning Star, meaning son of the sun and the moon, when he was inducted into the Kainai Chieftainship in 2012.

"That was a very sginifitcant ceremony for me, and I'm sure the distinguished group of individuals who will be granted their Blackfoot names this weekend will see it as a great honour," said Mahon adding the naming ceremony is very symbolic and reflects the relationship they want to continue to foster with the Blackfoot people.

Today's naming ceremony runs from 12:30 p.m. until 2 p.m. in the Grove on campus.

Lethbridge high school students produce eco-friendly ink for Boston science competition

Join the Discussion

We are happy to provide a forum for commenting and discussion. Please respect and abide by the house rules: Keep it clean, keep it civil, keep it truthful, stay on topic, be responsible, share your knowledge, and please suggest removal of comments that violate these standards. See full commenting rules.