Three-Time CIS Women's Rugby Championship Teams to be enshrined in Pronghorn Hall of Fame

By Aaron Mahoney (@Mahones93 on Twitter)
October 23, 2017 - 2:58pm

LETHBRIDGE - The University of Lethbridge Pronghorns will add a new member to the Pronghorn Hall of Fame for the first time in seven years when they welcome the CIS Women Rugby Championship teams from 2007, 2008 and 2009.

In conjunction with the induction of the rugby teams, Pronghorn Athletics will also unveil the redesigned hall of fame that they believe will become a cornerstone in the 'Pronghorn Square' in the 1st Choice Savings Centre.

Executive Director Ken McInnis says moving the Hall of Fame into their newly created Pronghorn Square will reminds everyone of who has gone before them and what is possible.

"As we relaunch the Hall of Fame I cannot think of a more appropriate group of inductees than our Championship Women's Rugby Team, especially since we are the hosts for this year's U SPORTS Women's Rugby Championships," McInnis said, adding they will take their rightful place among the other inductees who have been part of Pronghorn Athletics history.

After the program's first Canada West title, and a CIS bronze medal in 2006, the Pronghorns returned to the CIS Championships in 2007. They defeated the Western University Mustangs 15-10 in London, ON to win the first of their three national titles. Brittany Orr was named the CIS tournament most valuable player and Canada West rookie of the year, while Ashley Steacy was named an All-Canadian.

The Pronghorns were guaranteed a berth in the 2008 CIS Championship as the host team, but they earned their third consecutive Canada West title to enter the tournament as the top seed. The Pronghorns would repeat as national champions with a 29-15 win over St. Francis Xavier University on their home field. Steacy was named CIS Tournament MVP and the Pronghorns laid claim to six of the 15 tournament all-star spots. Brandi Van Eeuwen was named both the Canada West and CIS rookie of the year.

The 2009 season was a special one for the Pronghorns, as they went undefeated in conference action, and won the Canada West title with a 30-0 victory over the University of Alberta Pandas.

At the CIS Championships in Vancouver, the Pronghorns defeated the Western Mustangs, the Concordia University Stingers, and the University of Guelph Gryphons before beating St. Francis Xavier for the second year in a row to cement their third consecutive CIS Championship. Steacy was named CIS Player of the Year, while Andrea Letal was the tournament MVP and Neil Langevin was named Canada West and CIS Coach of the Year.

The official induction and unveiling of the new Pronghorn Hall of Fame in newly named Pronghorn Square, located on level 2 of the 1st Choice Savings Centre, will be held on Saturday, Nov. 4 at 5 p.m. which will coincide with the 2017 U SPORTS Rugby Championship that the Pronghorns are hosting.

Strong start to the season has the Coaldale Copperheads looking for more

Join the Discussion

We are happy to provide a forum for commenting and discussion. Please respect and abide by the house rules: Keep it clean, keep it civil, keep it truthful, stay on topic, be responsible, share your knowledge, and please suggest removal of comments that violate these standards. See full commenting rules.