Inductees into the inaugural Kodiaks Hall of Fame to be honoured this weekend

By Aaron Mahoney (@Mahones93 on Twitter)
October 18, 2017 - 1:22pm

LETHBRIDGE - Lethbridge College will be celebrating its storied athletic history with the creation of the Kodiaks Hall of Fame as part of the college's 60th anniversary celebrations.

Ceremonies will be held at the Kodiaks basketball and volleyball games this weekend to recognize the inaugural 12 inductees into the hall of fame.

The 2017 class features four former athletes, three foundational coaches and five championship teams from throughout the college's history.


- Sharon (Davies) Fogtmann - women's badminton

- Laurie Ann Hockridge - women's basketball

- Kip Kangogo - men's cross country running

- Sai Wong - men's basketball


John Jasiukiewicz - women's basketball

Alvin Tietz - women's soccer

Tim Tollestrup - men's basketball


1988-89 and 1989-90 women's basketball

1988-89 men's basketball

1993-94 women's soccer

2002-03 women's cross country running

2004-05 and 2005-06 cross country running

Kodiaks Athletics Manager Todd Caughlin says this is something that's been in the works since he got to the college, but there challenges involved in rolling it out.

"Trying to get sponsors and the funding for it  was a struggle, but then the Kodiak Athletic Association stepped up and I can't say enough about that group," Caughlin said.

The Kodiaks Hall of Fame is an initiative of the KAA, a group of boosters committed to preserving and celebrating the college's athletic history and at the same time finding opportunities to support current and future Kodiaks student athletes.

"The history that Kodiaks Athletics has runs so deep, and this first class that we're putting in is very diversified as far as the amount of different athletes in different sports being honoured," Caughlin continued. "We've got a big wall here in the gym, and I'm looking forward to seeing it filled up as we continue forward."

The Kodiaks Hall of Fame will add a little more notoriety to the athletic side of the college, and Caughlin believes it's well overdue.

"Sadly we've never had a Hall of Fame despite our 57 ACAC championships. So now we're being able to bring in all of the outstanding athletes, coaches and members of championship teams to give them another another thank you. Having them around our current student athletes, I can't say enough about the impact that will have," Caughlin concluded.

Sharon Davies Fogtmann, one of the inductees this weekend, admits she was flabbergasted when she got the call.

"I didn't even know they had me in the records," Fogtmann said, drawing a laugh from those in attendance this morning. "This goes back to 1979 you guys, I was like woah really? Todd has been great as athletic manager and to be able to set this Hall of Fame up is a great recognition of all the athletes who have come through Lethbridge College and those who will come through in the future."

The '88-'90 women's basketball, Jasiukiewicz, and Hockridge will be inducted during the women's basketball game on Friday. The men's basketball game, also on Friday, will see the '88-'89 men's basketball, Tollestrup, and Fogtmann honoured. Then the '93-'94 women's soccer, Tietz, and the '02-'03 women's cross country team will be inducted during the women's volleyball game on Saturday while the '04-'06 men's cross country team, Kangogo, and Wong will be honoured at the men's volleyball game.

Kodiaks men's basketball team to host 2017 ACAC Men's Basketball Championship

Join the Discussion

We are happy to provide a forum for commenting and discussion. Please respect and abide by the house rules: Keep it clean, keep it civil, keep it truthful, stay on topic, be responsible, share your knowledge, and please suggest removal of comments that violate these standards. See full commenting rules.